Monday, Bloody Mondays

As Alan Partridge so happily sung, is the day I start to sort out my digestive tract.

I’ve had ongoing problems with my stomach, well let’s not mince words, more specifically my bowel has given me a whole heap of problems for at least 7 years. I’ve been admitted to A&E for suspected appendicitis and had scans on my ovaries. In 2013 my symptoms became a lot worse. I was in pain most of the time and really bloated. I was bleeding (down there) and I’ve had loose stools ever since March 2013. That Xmas I was having 10 bowel movements a day. Other symptoms include

  • Fatigue
  • Dizziness
  • Muscle cramps
  • Joint pain
  • Low mood
  • Bloating
  • Nausea for hours at a time
  • Loss of appetite
  • Weight loss
  • Excess gas
  • Pain (like glass moving through my bowel on my lower right side abdo)
  • Loose stools
  • Blood and mucus in stools

Great huh?!

After a rather painful Christmas my partner dragged me to the GP. Now I’ve been to many doctors over the years who have fobbed me off. I’ve been on anti cramp medication, mint tablets and immodium all of which failed to treat my symptoms.

This GP listened. She did a PR exam which was very painful as well as examine my abdo which was also tender and sent me for a colonscopy. Long story short that was January 2014 and a year later I had a sigmoidoscopy, cameras both ways but neither actually viewing the site of my pain. After two rather abrupt and shockingly poor appointments with the Gastro doctor, I’m still nowhere near fixed.

I tried a gluten free diet which helped initially, all my symptoms vanished. I was so happy I cried. But after reintroducing things back into my diet the pain and bloating and nausea returned.

The Gastro doctor wrote to my GP and suggested I trial a low FODMAP diet under the supervision of a dietitian. I booked an appointment with the wrong GP. A GP I had seen at 26 who told me it was normal for me to be having blackouts….

She refused to refer me to a dietitian and printed off some useless american sheet re fodmaps.

So here I am about to start the low fodmap diet as a last ditch attempt to regain normal function of my bowel.

Luckily for me, up until recently I was a dietetic assistant. While I know I am NOT a dietitian, I do have more information and knowledge than your average Joe. I also have a few friends who are registered dietitians and trained in the fodmap diet.

So with their help, a diet sheet and the internet I am about to start an 8 week diet that will hopefully help to ‘reset’ my gut so I can reintroduce foods and find out what is so intolerant to my gut.

I’ll be posting my progress, thoughts and recipes here. Welcome aboard if you are interested.

*Please note, this diet should be followed under the supervision of a dietitian trained to support you. Please seek a referral if you are searching for an answer to your gut problems/IBS.

IMG_20150222_115628031

 

Today I had afternoon tea. My last supper. With bread, cheese, crisps, pork pie, scotch egg and cake. I’m going to miss processed foods.

Leave a Reply

